About our Museum
History and Outline
The Tokaido Hiroshige Museum of Art opened in 1994 in Yui Honjin Park, on the site of the old daimyo inn (honjin) of the post-station town of Yui along the Tokaido highway. It is Japan's first art museum named after Utagawa Hiroshige (1797-1858), the famous Edo period ukiyo-e artist.
Its collection of some 1,400 masterpieces of landscape prints includes the three most significant versions of the Fifty-Three Stations of the Tokaido series: the Hoeido Edition, the Reisho Tokaido, and the Gyosho Tokaido; as well as One Hundred Famous Views of Edo, which Hiroshige created in his later years.
Exhibits are changed on a monthly basis to ensure visitors can always experience the wonder of ukiyo-e from a fresh perspective. A wide variety of special exhibitions of the Museum’s collections and other works are also held.
Lectures, gallery talks, and other related events are also held frequently.
The Museum has both large and small galleries, as well as the “Basic Knowledge about Ukiyo-e” display and the Guidance Room. The Entrance Hall has been designed to help visitors understand Edo culture based on the key words of “Hiroshige” and “Tokaido,” and features an “Ukiyo-e Experience Corner” where visitors can easily understand how woodblock prints are produced. The Museum Shop also sells products unique to the Museum.